Tagalaka Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC

Click here to download a detailed profile and contact information.


The Tagalaka Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC administers land on behalf of the Tagalaka people. Their native title rights and interests were first recognised in the Tagalaka People and Tagalaka People #2 native title determinations on 10 December 2012.

The native title claimants lodged applications in 1998 and 2001 seeking a determination of native title on behalf of the Tagalaka People over various lands in the Gulf Savannah region around the townships of Croydon, Normanton and East Hayden. The two determined applications were heard together due to their geographical proximity.

The Federal Court recognised Tagalaka People’s exclusive native title rights to possession, occupation, use and enjoyment over approximately 105 square kilometres of land within the Determination areas. Non-exclusive native title was recognised over a further 29,817 square kilometres (Department of Natural Resources and Mines, Queensland Government, 2012). Native title rights and interests were therefore recognised over approximately 30,000 square kilometres covering 469 parcels of land.

The consent determinations will operate along with a number of ILUAs that the Tagalaka People have negotiated with local councils, pastoralists and service providers. The ILUAs provide for the management and the ongoing protection of land within the determination area. They complement the ILUAs the Tagalaka People negotiated with the State Government in 2005 and 2008 (Queensland Government DNRM, 2012).

The remaining area, ‘Tagalaka People #2 Part B’, was set down for a later hearing because the parties had not reached agreement (see Busch on behalf of the Tagalaka People #2 v State of Queensland [2012] FCA 1489). The trial was eventually set down for three weeks commencing 14 October 2013.

Managed by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
AIATSIS acknowledges the funding support of the Native Title Branch of
the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C).