Kaurareg Native Title Aboriginal Corporation

Click here to download a detailed profile and contact information.


A consent determination was made on 23 May 2001 resolving five claims made by the Kaurareg People. The claims had been in mediation since 1997 and were resolved through agreements reached with the Queensland Government, the Torres Shire Council, Ergon Energy, Telstra, the Queensland Seafood Industry Association, the Torres Strait Regional Authority and private land-holders. The agreements resolve land use and development issues and cover the inner Torres Strait islands of Ngurapai (Horn Island); Muralag (Prince of Wales Island); Zuna (Entrance Island); Tarilag (Packe Island); Yeta (Port Lihou Island); Damaralag (Dumuralug Islet); and Mipa (Turtle Island).

Managed by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
AIATSIS acknowledges the funding support of the Native Title Branch of
the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C).