Mitata Aboriginal Corporation

Click here to download a detailed profile and contact information.


The Kurundi consent determination was made by Reeves J on the 14th July 2011. The determination relates to an area of land covered by a pastoral lease known as kurundi station. The applicants include four land-holding groups: the Mirtartu, Warupunju, Arrawajin and Tijampara People.

The rights and interests specified in the order cover access; residence; hunting, gathering and fishing; taking and using natural resources and water; lighting fires for domestic purposes (but not for clearing vegetation); access, maintenance and protection of important sites; conducting ceremonies, cultural activities, meetings, teaching (with a qualified right to privacy); making decisions about the use and enjoyment of the land and waters by aboriginal people who recognise themselves as governed by traditional law and custom; sharing or exchanging natural resources including traditional items made from the natural resources; and being accompanied by non-native title holders under some circumstances.

Managed by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
AIATSIS acknowledges the funding support of the Native Title Branch of
the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (PM&C).